Fear.

I haven’t been blogging much over the summer but I hope to get back into it over the school year.

A lot has happened this summer, lots of growing up and lots of changes. I think my entire perspective about myself and the world has changed. The things that I got to experience this summer have impacted my life in so many ways.

I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about my faith and my life and I’m glad of the time I had to think because I learned more about myself and I discovered what I truly believe about the world. But what I thought about most was fear.

Fear is a huge part of life, it can stop us from trying new things. People repeat the same things when they learn that you’re too afraid to try something. They always say “God is in control,” or something along those lines. I trust God but it doesn’t make me any less afraid. Maybe it should but it doesn’t.

I’m not going to make a large list of everything that I’m afraid of. But one thing I’m not afraid of is being afraid. Fear is part of being human and sometimes we have no reason to be afraid, but a lot of the time it can’t be helped. I believe that God can protect us from harm but I have never really found comfort in prayer or when people say “God is in control,” I don’t know what your afraid of and I can’t tell you how not to be afraid. But I can tell you everyone is afraid of something and it only makes it worse if you’re ashamed of being afraid.

Leave a Reply

